A Very Personal Playlist

Instead of posting a bunch of videos on Facebook and other social media sites as I have done in the past, I decided to put together a playlist (I’m not on Spotify, Apple Music, Pandora, or any of those other streaming sites since, with all the MP3s, albums, and CDs I have, I basically am my own streaming service). So, this is a playlist of songs of videos (mostly) on accessible YouTube that fit the mood of the moment. It’s not a list of Laura’s favorite songs, although there are certainly a few of those on here. It’s not a list of my favorite songs, although there are definitely a couple of those on here as well.

Instead, it’s a list of songs that represent my feelings since Laura passed away two years ago. Most of them only have a verse or two or just a chorus that represents my feelings. However, surprisingly, there are quite a few of them that represent my feelings almost totally, such as “The Dance,” “Everything I Own,” and “Gone Away.” What funny (or sad) about this list is many of them are downer songs (my apologies for that in advance) and yet many of them were among my favorites before they appeared on this list. At least seven or eight of them are my favorite song by that particular artist or band. Some, however, I have discovered since her passing. But all have stirred something in me when I hear them.

Some of these songs are more personal to our relationship as well. I’ve mentioned in other posts about the relationship between me, Laura, my mom, and “Can’t Help Falling in Love.” I’ve also mentioned Laura’s feelings about the Rainbow Bridge and its connection to Weezer’s “Island in the Sun,” son their inclusion was mandatory as well.

Some songs even have dual meanings. “Wake Me Up When September Ends” has a dual meaning because Laura’s birthday was in September. “Ain’t No Sunshine” has a dual meaning because one of Laura’s nicknames (and I think her favorite) was “Sunshine.”

Without further ado, here is the YouTube link (which is not in any particular order; just click the first video and it will take you to the entire playlist):

 

 

Leave a comment