20 Years Ago Today: Free Tibet ’99

So, looking back through the archives, I realized that June 13 is the 20th anniversary of arguably the best concert that Laura and I – either together or separately – saw in our lifetimes, which was the Free Tibet ’99 concert held at Alpine Valley Music Theatre in East Troy, Wisconsin (just outside of Chicago). For music history fans, this was the site of Stevie Ray Vaughan’s last concert as his helicopter that he took to leave the venue crashed soon after takeoff.

The lineup was incredible:

  • Run DMC
  • Beastie Boys
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Live
  • The Cult
  • Blondie
  • Eddie Vedder
  • Tracy Chapman
  • The Roots
  • Otis Rush
  • Cibo Matto
  • Handsome Boy Modeling School

We were living in Duluth, Minnesota, at the time and I managed to convince the powers that be in the features department of the newspaper I was working at at the time, The Duluth News Tribune, to let me cover the event and even take a camera along for Laura to take photos. So, I arranged for passes and we drove the five hours from Duluth to East Troy, much of it in a driving rainstorm. It was raining so much and we got there so early – about an hour and a half before the gates were to open – that we backtracked and went to a Walmart to buy yellow rain slickers.
We came back and parked, being one of the first to arrive and parked in the first row. I mention the rain slickers because a funny thing happened. We apparently looked like security for the venue and, while we were setting up to go in,  none other than Jon Stewart (of “The Daily Show” and “Big Daddy” fame) came up to me to ask me where the interview space was being set up – all while it is pouring down rain. Not knowing, I guessed – and guessed wrong, sending him in the complete opposite direction. I don;t think I made a friend that day.

So, we went to the interview hall and talked with several people, including several of the monks from Tibet. Also there were Mike D. of the Beastie Boys, Ed Kowalcyck of Live and – one of Laura’s crushes – Ian Astbury of The Cult. After the interviews, Laura and I actually got some one-on-one time with Astbury and Laura managed to get several huigs and kisses out of the deal. We also made friends with The Cult’s tour manager, who hooked us up a few months later when The Cult played in Minneapolis.

In addition to The Cult, my main purpose was to make it so Laura could see some of her favorites, including Live, Rage Against the Machine and, of course, Blondie. I was really hoping to manage to get some time for Laura and Debbie Harry to meet, but this was at the height of Blondie’s reunion tour for the album “No Exit,” so Blondie helicoptered in, played the show, and helicoptered right back out again.

The show itself was incredible. The rain had stopped and the sun came out by the time the concert started at noon. Getting to see The Roots, Tracy Chapman and Eddie Vedder – who was touring on his cover of J. Frank Wilson’s “Last Kiss” – was great, but seeing The Cult, Live, and Blondie made it all worthwhile. Then, I was in for an unexpected surprise. Laura was a fan of Rage, but I didn’t really like what I heard on CD. However, the band was amazing live – so much energy. The crowd was stomping their feet and jumping up and down so hard that I thought the roof was going to come down. I became a fan instantly.

I have a ton of photos from that day, but they are in boxes in the garage that I haven’t had the heart or energy to get to yet. I found these three photos that Laura took – not that great unfortunately – of The Clt when playing.

A great memory that I wish I could talk to her about today. Guess I’ll just have to have that conversation in my mind. Rest in peace, baby. Your honey bear misses you terribly.

Leave a comment