All-Time Favorite Music Artists

One of my stated goals with this site is to post more of my thoughts, musings, opinions, etc., about the things that affect my life most, with two of them being music and sports. Now, every day I post the music history report, which can also be hear at 4:35 Eastern Time Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Friday on the Colonel St. James show on Cypress Radio 103.5 in Cypress, Texas – a radio station I highly recommend listening to if you want to hear something different than the same 300 songs every day on the radio station you likely listen to every day. The station can be found on the radio – yes, it’s a real-live radio station – at 103.5 FM in and around the Cypress area in Texas. You can also pick them up on the Tune-In application on your phone or tablet (look for Cypress Radio) or online at http://cypressradio.org/. Check them out on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/cypressradio/ and check out Colonel St. James’s page as well at https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009716233678.

Enough about that. Anyways, I post that list every day, and I really like putting it together every day. I love reading about artists and bands that I haven;t thought of in a long time and digging into back catalogs of long-forgotten acts. It’s through doing this that I have been getting into older acts like The Coasters, Sweet, and John Lee Hooker – just to name a few.

But, I still feel like I could do more. Although working every day editing and writing and doing quality assurance projects is kicking my ass on a daily basis, so I have precious little spare time for diatribes like this. About six months ago, I posted my All-Time Favorite Songs – https://agateking.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/all-time-favorite-songs/ – and had fun putting that list together. So, while I try to figure out how to make this site better – I’d love to be able to monetize the history reports somehow – here is another list I put together of my All-Time Favorite Music Artists. Needless to say, The Cars are No.1.But, I didn’t need to say that. There are some interesting things to note about the list, such as:

Only one country artist: George Strait

Only one Southern rock band: Lynyrd Skynyrd

Only five New Wave bands on the list, and that’s if you consider The Police to be New Wave, which I am not even sure I do

Most surprisingly, only 21 of the bands and artists who sing my All-Time Favorite Songs are represented on this list.

Without further ado:

All-Time Favorite Music Artists

  1. The Cars
  2. Electric Light Orchestra
  3. Collective Soul
  4. Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band
  5. The Offspring
  6. Pink Floyd
  7. Foreigner
  8. Stone Temple Pilots
  9. Styx
  10. Devo

 

  1. The Cult
  2. Duran Duran
  3. Queen
  4. Prince & the Revolution
  5. Lynyrd Skynyrd
  6. Deep Purple
  7. Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass
  8. Led Zeppelin
  9. Rolling Stones
  10. Guns N’ Roses

 

  1. The Beatles
  2. Eagles
  3. The Doors
  4. Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  5. AC/DC
  6. Elvis Presley
  7. The Monkees
  8. Carpenters
  9. Garbage
  10. Def Leppard

 

  1. Four Tops
  2. The Go-Gos
  3. ZZ Top
  4. Billy Squier
  5. Credence Clearwater Revival
  6. The Who
  7. Aerosmith
  8. U2
  9. Blondie
  10. INXS

 

  1. David Bowie
  2. Heart
  3. KISS
  4. Cracker
  5. Fleetwood Mac
  6. The Police
  7. Loverboy
  8. George Strait
  9. Jimi Hendrix
  10. Huey Lewis & the News

Leave a comment